L’Oreal True Match Foundation Review

DSC_8519Who knew makeup could be so controversial. I recently posted a picture of the L’oreal True Match foundation over on The Beautiful Truth Facebook page and to say there was a real split in people’s opinions would be an understatement. I couldn’t believe how strongly people would feel over a foundation!!! So many people not only didn’t like this foundation but absolutely hated it!! The complaints most people had was how it wore on the skin. Many found that it slid off their face throughout the day, or it went patchy. I have to say, I didn’t hold out much hope for this foundation, but ladies, I have to say, the L’Oreal True Match foundation really has blown me away. I absolutely love it!!

L’Oreal have recently reformulate and relaunched their True Match foundation. I personally haven’t tried the original foundation, so it is hard to compare between the two.

Screen Shot 2015-10-28 at 9.27.35 p.m.Shade Range: When choosing a shade from the True Match range, I found that there was so many shades to pick from that it got a little confusing. Try and get to a counter that has a good selection of testers, as I found a few stands I went to, the testers had been stolen. I mean who does that!!!

There is 21 shades in the range, so there literally is a shade to suit everyone! I wear 3d Golden beige and found it to be a decent shade match to my Mac NC 25. It is a little warmer and marginally darker, but I really like the shade with my skin tone.

DSC_8522Packaging: The foundation comes in a glass bottle. While it looks lovely and sleek, I found that the head and cap got very dirty. In fact I couldn’t take a picture of the foundation with the cap on, as the sellotape  that secured the lid to the bottle in the shop had made the cap so dirty, that no amount of scrubbing was getting it clean.

DSC_8521I found that the pump itself was good, as it gave out a really decent amount of product, that you weren’t over pumping product and it didn’t drip either.

Screen Shot 2015-10-28 at 10.28.16 p.m.Texture: I found this to be an incredibly smooth foundation. The texture is so silky when applied to the skin and it really blends so easily. In fact, I like h0w this applies so much, I have found myself reaching for this over all my high end foundations.

Screen Shot 2015-10-28 at 10.29.18 p.m.Finish: I adore the finish on this foundation. I just love how it leaves the skin looking flawless. It is not a matte, nor is it a dewy finish, instead it is somewhat of a satin finish, but it just gives such a beautiful smooth finish to the skin, with a radiance rather than glow. I really love how my skin looks when wearing this foundation.

Skin Type: I am a little stumped as to what skin type this would best suit. I have combination skin and found that it didn’t cling to any dry patches, nor was there wear down in my oily areas. I would however think if you’re very oily of very dry, this might not suit you.

Screen Shot 2015-10-28 at 10.30.26 p.m.Coverage: This is a good medium coverage. While it gives good coverage to the skin, it still allows the skin to show through, but in a flawless way.

Lasting Power: This is the best budget foundation that I have tried for lasting power. It stays but all day, with just the usual wear down around the mouth. No matter what foundation I wear, I seem to get wear down around the mouth. Must be all the talking I do!! Honestly I found that this foundation still looked the same after a full days work.

Price:  €14.99 on all L’Oreal stands, but boots often have offers on L’Oreal products. You can buy it online here.

This has been the budget foundation I have been searching years to find. I love this foundation. Like I mean really love it. I love the finish, coverage, lasting power and the warmth it gives my face. I do however know that this is not going to be for everyone. However, considering the price point, I really think it is worth trying, because if it suits you, you really will hit the jackpot with this. I have a feeling that the L’Oreal True match is going to be the budget foundation I repurchase again and again.

Comments

  1. says

    I LOVE this foundation, It’s possibly the only foundation I have worn where people ask me what I’m wearing because it’s so natural. I love the shades, plenty of pale ones! And a great price too.

    Love this post,
    Nicole
    daydreamsanddresses,com

  2. says

    Hi Sinead! I think this foundation is great! It is not good for some skin types but for mine definitely one of the best out there.
    I have a review on my blog I posted a couple of weeks ago if you want to see my full opinion about this foundation 🙂 psilovebeauty.com

  3. Dana says

    I hate everything about the new formula! 🙁 I swore by the shade Porcelain for 10 years. The new formula is way too pink for me and I don’t like the slight shimmer. It’s also much thinner and I feel like I end up using a lot more product for a lot less coverage than before. I’m really bummed I have to search for a new foundation now. Loreal why you do this to me?!?

  4. Triona says

    Finally got around to buying this, my everyday foundation ran out. I really love it so far, it’s so light I don’t feel like I’m wearing makeup at all, but it still gives great coverage! I have combination skin and it stayed put all day. I have large pores on my nose, and it didn’t highlight them like a lot of cheaper foundations! It really feels way more expensive than it is 🙂

  5. Thelma says

    I think it greatly depends on how you actually apply it.

    When I put this foundation on with my fingers (which I love) – it goes on SO badly, streaky and nearly unblendable… When I apply it with a brush or Beauty Blender it’s absolutely FAB!

  6. says

    Looks lovely on you. I don’t like it. I have combination skin and I can literally see my skin flaking underneath it, particularly on my forehead. It gets such good reviews. Glad you liked it.

  7. Gimena says

    I have the old version of it in the color w4, the problem with this foundation is that it emphasizes pores, fine lines (esp around your mouth) and it clings to dry patches the only good thing is the color range. HOWEVER I bought the other day the NEW version knowing that it would do the same as the old one but I needed th color W3 but TO MY SURPRISE it seems like they changed the formula because it doesn’t emphasize anything! it is more smooth and hydrating and sits very well on the skin! I’m really happy that they reformulated it!

  8. Naoimh says

    Hey Sinead, this is also my go to foundation! Great wear during the day and it does fairly well during the Perth summers! It has an spf in it though which gives the dreaded white face in photos. Any recommendations for budget photo friendly nighttime wear foundations?

  9. Grace says

    Your review is great. Your very pretty. I was searching for a review after trying a sample to see what others thought and found this page☺ I wanted to add to your review since my skin is significantly older than yours lol. Maybe my comment will help someone. I am 48, I have skin that breaks out easily and have always avoided foundation unless going out. I got a sample if this and loved it. I’m normally a high end brand user but I’m switching. My skin is getting much drier as I get older and I just had hysterectomy and am on hormone replacement.. So far, this is not creating any breakouts and covers red spots nicely. It’s thin yet covers. In fact, I think by using it, my skin is healthier. I would like to use a moisturize but that all cause breakouts. This actually helps moisturize my face. It’s November in Georgia. We’ll see how it works through the winter. I’m super happy, especially since my acne is not aggravated by it. Yeah. now to find a cleanser that removes it gently and a powder or something for intraday touch up☺

  10. Alicia says

    I’m looking for a new everyday foundation, must give this one a go. The finished look is gorgeous, what other products have you used?

Trackbacks

  1. […] This is the first of two foundations that I have included but I couldn’t do a post on affordable base products without including this foundation. I honestly have serious love for this the Loreal True match. Have now repurchased this at least 4 or 5 times, which is unheard of for me. With a silky texture, satin finish, medium coverage and fantastic lasting power, it isn’t hard to see why I have used it so much. It is a little more expensive than most budget foundations but in my eyes if it suits your skin, it is worth every cent. You can buy it on any L’Oreal stand for €14.99. There is a full review here. […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *